Staff Roster

The staff at the Franciscan Montessori Earth School and St. Francis Academy are the core of the Earth School community.  With an average of 10+ years tenure, the staff of the Earth School provide our students with a breadth of experience and training unmatched in the Northwest.  Each teacher (known as “guides” in Montessori) at the Earth School, with the assistants, special teachers and support staff, contribute to an educational experience that ensures each student receives the very best possible educational experience.

For more info about a staff member, including their contact details and a brief bio, please click on their name below:  (more bios coming soon)

ADMINISTRATION

Sister Therese Gutting

Sister Therese Gutting

FSE, Administrator

SisterThereseGutting@fmes.org

Sister Therese Gutting FSE, Head of School, was raised
in Wisconsin with three brothers.

Finishing degrees in education at the University of
Minnesota and Viterbo University, Lacrosse Wisconsin,
she taught at schools in Wisconsin, Vancouver, B.C.
and Minnesota.

Sister Therese taught at Queen of Peace Catholic School in Duluth, working with fellow FSE Mother Colleen Kimbro.

At the same time she served as an adjunct faculty member, teaching business at Fond du Lac Tribal and Community College (FDLTCC) in the evenings.

In 2001, Sister Therese was hired as interim dean at FDLTCC. The following year she became vice president of academic affairs, a post she held up until 2009.

Sister Therese founded and directed the Northwoods Computer Center in Duluth, Minnesota,.

In 2009 she returned to Queen of Peace as principal.

In 2012 she came the Earth School, where she has been instrumental in the growth and advancement of the school.

Sister Therese enjoys reading, fishing, football (especially the Green Bay Packers) and
adventure. Her favorite foods are seafood, hot sauce and cheese.

CHILDREN’S HOUSE

Priscilla Winning

Priscilla Winning

Head Guide, Larch Room

pwinning@fmes.org

I attended California State University and Marylhurst College, receiving degrees in education and social science. I received my Montessori training at the AMI Montessori institute in Los Angeles, California. I received my AMI diploma in 1980.

Virginia LeCroy

Virginia LeCroy

Assistant, Larch Room

glecroy@fmes.com

Tracie Ott

Tracie Ott

Guide, Fir Room

Tott@fmes.org

BA in Human Studies from Marylhurst University
Montessori Primary certificate from Montessori Northwest
Member- AMI, NAMTA, OMA

Andrea Rabie

Andrea Rabie

Assistant, Fir Room

ARabie@fmes.org

Attended Shaver Elementary, Parkrose Middle School, and graduated from Parkrose high school. I also attended Portland State University majored in social science with a minor in Psychology. Gradated from Portland State June of 2008.

Beth Russell

Beth Russell

Guide, Juniper Room

brussell@fmes.org

AA, Pierce College
BA, San Jose State
MA, Marylhurst University

Epi Santillan Garcia

Epi Santillan Garcia

Assistant, Juniper Room

egarcia@fmes.org

Montessori Teacher Assistant Course.
I graduated from High School in Mexico, and also completed a Preschool Teaching Course.

Mary Ellen Churchill

Mary Ellen Churchill

Guide, Redwood Room

mechurchill@fmes.org

I hold a B.S. in Geography from U.O. I received a Special Education Endorsement for Handicapped Learners from Western Oregon State. I attended Portland State and earned a basic teaching certificate. I also hold an AMI Primary Diploma from Montessori Northwest Training Center. I am a member of AMI, NAMTA and OMA

Ailyn Taylor

Ailyn Taylor

Assistant, Redwood Room

ATaylor@fmes.org

LOWER ELEMENTARY

Lorelea McAfee-Einwaller

Lorelea McAfee-Einwaller

Head Guide, Alder Room

LMcAfee@fmes.org

AMI Montessori Guide certification for children ages 6 through 12, Washington Montessori Institute

M.Ed. Loyola University

Blosser Institute/P.S.U., Certified Orton-Gillingham Multi-sensory Reading/Writing/Spelling Practitioner, 2014 – present

Caitlyn Moe

Caitlyn Moe

Assistant, Alder Room

cmoe@fmes.org

University of Oregon Robert D. Clark Honors College, B.A. in English

Montessori Northwest, AMI Primary diploma

Loyola University Maryland, M.Ed.

Sister Jacinta Coscia

Sister Jacinta Coscia

FSE, Guide, Pine Room

sisterjacintacoscia@fmes.org

Bachelor of Science in Elementary Education
Master of Science in Elementary Education
Bachelor in Educational Philosophy in Rome, Italy
AMI training at Montessori Northwest here in Portland

Emily de Vine

Emily de Vine

Assistant, Pine Room

edevine@fmes.org

Graduated 2006 from Liberty University with a Bachelors Degree in Psychology and Family and Child Development.
Completed my AMI training at the Primary level (ages 2.5-6+) May 2015.
Graduated September 2015 from Loyola University Maryland with a Masters in Education.

Mary Holland

Mary Holland

Giode, Spruce Room

MHolland@fmes.org

I attended the University of Oregon where I earned a Bachelor of Science from the school of Architecture and Allied Arts. My Montessori training is in two levels, both AMI, for Children’s House and Elementary.

Anne Ratcliff

Anne Ratcliff

Assistant, Spruce Room

aratcliff@fmes.org

B.S. University of Oregon Political Science, cum laude. Phi Beta Kappa
Portland native with 2 children. I enjoy hiking and traveling

Sister Anne Clare Keeler

Sister Anne Clare Keeler

FSE, Guide, Hawthorn Room

sisteranneclare@fmes.org

AMI, NAMTA, OMA-EAA.
Trinity College in Washington, D.C., and graduate school at the University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill, the University of Freiburg in West Germany, and Boston College.

Carmel Norman

Carmel Norman

Guide, Hawthorn Room

cnorman@fmes.org

As a child, Carmel Norman attended a Montessori primary school in Florida, and credits the Montessori method for igniting a life-long interest in the nature, science, and exploration in general.  After earning a bachelor’s degree in ecology from the University of Georgia and a master’s in marine biology from Northeastern University, Carmel re-discovered her love of Montessori education and moved across the country to take the AMI elementary training in Portland at Montessori Northwest.  She also completed a master’s degree in Montessori education through Loyola University.  This will be Carmel’s fourth year working in a Montessori elementary classroom.

Carmel enjoys taking advantage of the multitude of outdoor activities available in the Pacific Northwest, especially adding to her knowledge of the flora and fauna of our area.  She also enjoys gardening, yoga, knitting, and exploring the beautiful Oregon coast.

UPPER ELEMENTARY

Sister Karol Marie Hegarty

Sister Karol Marie Hegarty

FSE, Head Guide, Maple Room

sisterkarolmarie@fmes.org

Jeremy Pegg

Jeremy Pegg

Assistant, Mapel Room

jpegg@fmes.org

MHCC, PCC, NRCC

Currently attending Marylhurst University to complete an English Literature Degree.

Gladys Munoz

Gladys Munoz

Guide, Willow Room

gmunoz@fmes.org

I have a Bachelor’s Degree in Chemical Engineering from the University of San Carlos – Technological Center, Cebu City, Philippines. I received my Montessori training from O. B. Montessori Center, Inc., Metro Manila, Philippines where our trainers were Bergamo-trained Montessorians. Currently, I am working on my Master of Education in Curriculum and Instruction with a concentration on Science, Technology, Engineering, and Math (STEM) at Concordia University.

Kristen Klug

Kristen Klug

Assistant, Willow Room

KKlug@fmes.org

Helena Reid

Helena Reid

Guide, Walnut Room

HReid@fmes.org

B.A. International Relations and History, Dickinson College, Carlisle, PA.
AMI Primary Certification, Montessori Northwest, Portland, OR.
AMI Elementary Certification, Montessori Northwest, Portland, OR.

Halle Sheehan

Halle Sheehan

Assistant, Walnut Room

HSheehan@fmes.org

SAINT FRANCIS ACADEMY (SFA)

Laurie Langevin

Laurie Langevin

Head Guide, SFA

llangevin@fmes.org

 

Isaac Brocker

Isaac Brocker

Guide, SFA

ibrocker@fmes.org

B.S. Biology (Botany Track) from Portland State University; 2014
Born: Hyde Park, Chicago, IL. My parents taught me to love and serve others.

Jennifer Waters

Jennifer Waters

Guide, SFA

jwaters@fmes.org

BA in English and minor in Professional Writing from Portland State University
Master of Arts in Teaching from Concordia University
Montessori Adolescent Training this summer 2016

Shelley Kroll

Shelley Kroll

Assistant, SFA

SKroll@fmes.org

Shane Boyce

Shane Boyce

Assistant, SFA

sboyce@fmes.org

Associates in Communication Studies from Indiana University.
Montessori Primary Assistants Training from Montessori Northwest.

SPECIALTY TEACHERS

Scott Warner

Scott Warner

Physical Education

SWarner@fmes.org

Graduated High School from Clearwater Central Catholic, Florida. I hold a B.A in Psychology from Loras College, Dubuque, IA. Class “E” coaching license from the US Soccer Federation.

Sister Catherine Biehl

Sister Catherine Biehl

FSE, Tutor

SisterCatherine@fmes.org

BS ED at Viterbo College, MED Gonzaga University, and UMO and OSU.

Marc Boucher-Coulbert

Marc Boucher-Coulbert

Garden Specialist

mcolbert@fmes.org

BA in Religious Studies from The Catholic University of America, Washington, D.C., 1988.  

MA in Educational Policy and Foundations from Portland State University, Portland, OR, 2006.   

I am a hopeless jack-of-all trades who somehow found in gardening a satisfying unity of hand, mind, and heart.  Passing on the knowledge of how to grow and prepare our own food and how to care for our landscape and its creatures seems a supremely valuable thing to do, hence my work at FMES, and I also just like kids and how they view the world.  I enjoy spending time with my wife and children, walking our dog while listening to audio books, cooking, playing Texas Hold’em, and writing.  Check out my urban agriculture blog at: www.urban-ag-solutions.com.

Judy Foss

Judy Foss

School Counselor

jfoss@fmes.org

BS and MS in Health Education
MA in Counseling Psychology
Licensed Professional Counselor State of Oregon
School counselor FMES/SFA since 1994.

Linda Kaiel

Linda Kaiel

Atrium

lkaiel@fmes.org

Came to Oregon from Montana to attend the University of Portland, graduated magna cum laude with a BA in liberal arts. She holds an AMI Montessori diploma from the Washington Montessori Institute, with experience as a CH guide. In 1985 Mother Francine invited her to take Catechesis of the Good Shepherd training to assist with faith formation in the school. She holds CGS certificates for CH (3-6) LE (6-9) and UE (9-12).

Liz Smith

Liz Smith

Atrium Assistant

LSmith@fmes.org

Bachelor of Fine Arts, Saint Mary’s College 1986
Masters in Pastoral Ministry, Boston College 1991
Catechesis of the Good Shepherd training, all three levels, 1996-1998

Talula Kana

Talula Kana

Spanish

TKana@fmes.org

BA Hispanic Studies
Lewis and Clark College,
Portland, OR 2000-2004
Study abroad: University of Granada
Granada, Spain 2002-2003
AFS High School exchange program
Chile, 1998

Heidi Walz

Heidi Walz

German

Hwalz@fmes.org

Lydia Junewick

Lydia Junewick

Librarian

ljunewick@fmes.org

Master of Library Science from Emporia State University, 2004.

B.A. from Portland State University, 1996. Also attended Earlham College (a large number of Earlham students go on to become librarians, probably because the Earlham libraries are so good), and Xavier University, where I took Montessori education classes, although stopped short of certification. I went to Montessori school as a child and really appreciate the method.

Joseph Brasseur

Joseph Brasseur

I/T Director

jbrasseur@fmes.org

Aas in network systems administration
Itt technical institute portland or
Bachelors of science in cyber security
Itt technical institute portland or
Firefighting school and seaman apprentice school united states navy
San diego ca

MONTESSORI ASPECT

Kathy Tyler

Kathy Tyler

Supervisor

KTyler@fmes.org

Holly Fisher

Holly Fisher

Assistant

hfisher@fmes.org

Info coming soon

Kim Muncie

Kim Muncie

Assistant

KMuncie@fmes.org

ADMINISTRATIVE STAFF

Peter Einwaller

Peter Einwaller

Business Manager

PeterE@fmes.org

Angie DiPietro

Angie DiPietro

Bookkeeper

adipietro@fmes.org

Pamela Pegg

Pamela Pegg

Receptionist / Secretary

PPegg@fmes.org

AA in General Studies from NRCC

Mary Owings

Mary Owings

Receptionist/Accounts Payable

mowings@fmes.org

Associate Degree

Since my youth I wished to be a teacher of elementary students, however spent decades in a business career. Now working as the receptionist/bookkeeper, I am so happy to be able to interact with children and their family members on a daily basis.

ADMISSIONS

Deborah Dahling

Deborah Dahling

Admissions Director

ddahling@fmes.org

Oregon State University, BS Biology
Pacific Northwest College of Art, BFA Painting
Montessori 101 Certificate, Montessori Northwest Training Center

ADVANCEMENT

Michael Winning

Michael Winning

Advancement Director

mwinning@fmes.org

Undergraduate and graduate work at California State University Fullerton, Marylhurst University.
Literature and American Studies.
AMI Montessori Training at the Montessori Institute of Los Angeles

Melissa McGuire

Melissa McGuire

Advancement Assistant

mmcguire@fmes.org

SPECIAL AREAS

Christopher Glenn

Christopher Glenn

Research / Role Play (3rd Year)

cglenn@fmes.org

1974: University of Santa Cruz, BA, Psychology
1975: University of Oregon, MS, Counseling
1980: Texas Tech University, Ph.D., Psychology

Romila Kim

Romila Kim

Volunteer Coordinator

RomKim@fmes.org

 Sister Helen Jean Brickman

Sister Helen Jean Brickman

FSE, Bookkeeper / Accounts Payable

fsebvo@gmail.com

BA from Viterbo College, LaCrosse, WI, MA(+) from St. Louis University, St. Louis MO. Counseling Degree OSU, Corvallis, OR

Ron Kotkins

Ron Kotkins

Maintenance

rkotkins@fmes.org

 

Duane Rea

Duane Rea

Maintenance

drea@fmes.org

 

Liz Steffy

Liz Steffy

Volunteer

lsteffy@fmes.org

Attended Whitman College’ did daycare and foster care until my children were in school, then was secretary to the principal at Evergreen High School in Vancouver, WA for 5 years. Was recruited to work for a lien service which I did for 10 years, then bought the business and ran it successfully for 13 years until retirement. Four of my grandchildren have attended Montessori Schools, two at FMES. I believe Montessori is the best education a child can have. I have been a volunteer at FMES for 14 years

Laughing Planet

Laughing Planet

N2 (Noon Nutrition Lunch Program)

www.LaughingPlanetCafe.com